Trout Lake – Menomonee Park

Lured by the name, I’ve cast a few June weekends at this deep quarry lake. I’ve seen monstrous carp, large bass, warmouth, and trout, but only a few chunky bluegills have made it to shore.

my cricket fly grabbed a lot of attention

my cricket fly grabbed a lot of attention

The fish in this lake seem passive and wary, which are perhaps symptoms of pickiness born of an abundance of food. The deep water and rugged lake walls probably provide a steady smorgasbord of crustaceans and nymphs , ..but that’s just a guess.

I’ve met some regulars that fish the pier for trout and panfish. It seems the most reliable way to catch fish on this lake is suspending bait at varying depths (which I’ve not tried).

My only success has come from presenting the fish with lures they likely hadn’t seen before. Almost every fly has attracted a pursuit, strike, or catch. The bass liked my woolly bugger, but I failed to secure any of the strikes. Everything liked my scuds, but the poppers did the best.

bluegills liked the small popper

bluegills liked the small popper

I’ll keep returning for the promise of that deep, dark water, …hopefully with good news to report.

Leave a Reply

