Lower Mukwonago River

After re-discovering my love for angling last year, I found my way back to this childhood fishing hole. I beamed when I saw how little it had changed. The fish that tantalized me 30 years ago are still there today.

Water was high and frothy in June.

Water was high and frothy in June.

What impresses me most about this river is how it holds such a wide variety of fish. In early June, a 25″ northern ambushed the minuscule bluegill my daughter hooked on a worm. It was laying in wait under a fallen tree in 10-12 inches of water. For a moment we thought we could land it, but it broke the line after we pulled it close to shore and he saw us approach.

I mostly hook aggressive bluegills, but others have told me they fish for walleye and carp at this location. I’ve also seen suckers and something I think was a dogfish.

Not a dogfish, but one of the many nice-sized 'gills knocking about.

Not a dogfish, but one of the many nice-sized ‘gills knocking about.

I recently wet-waded here on an early Sunday morning, fly fishing the peaceful, shimmering water down to the hwy and back. The river was mine, save for the resident ‘gills and some feisty bass stalking the eddies.

Used a plastic grub with fly gear. Slid it off a boulder right in front of him.

Used a plastic grub with fly gear. Slid it off a boulder right in front of him.

They put up a great fight that made the morning memorable. And while they brought some excitement to the morning, what was most gratifying to me was their finicky nature. It took a perfect cast and presentation to entice a strike.

Got him on a popper I slipped under an overhanging tree.

Got him on a popper I slipped under an overhanging tree.

It’s a pristine little gem of a river that holds a few surprises for those willing to move off the shore. It’s also a great spot for a kid to stumble onto a nice catch. 

Leave a Reply

